a Love Letter + a Plea for Some $$$

Para Contar

wordup

I learned about Word Up about a year and a half ago, during my first week in New York, in fact. My friend was wearing one of their T-shirts, bearing the subtitle “Community Bookshop Librería Comunitaria”. I was immediately intrigued and demanded to know what something with a name like “Word Up” was all about. She told me she had met someone there and that it was a cool venture that I should check out. It took me a year to finally reach out and start volunteering there.

It’s kind of hard to explain what Word Up is all about. It’s a bookstore, but it’s also so much more than that. And what I do as a volunteer there, mostly small, unglamorous tasks to help the store run, like running the cash register (slowly), hanging up posters from recent events, stuffing envelopes, etc., don’t explain the feeling that I have…

View original post 798 more words

Leave a Reply

